December 6, 1989 – 25 Years

This week has been a week of reflection for me.  I can’t believe it is 25 years since the event occurred that has shaped my true beliefs and hurts my heart every time I think of it.  Tomorrow marks 25 years since the Montreal Massacre at L’Ecole Polytechnique where a man went on a shooting rampage killing 14 women (12 of whom were engineering students), wounding 10 other women and 4 men.  He killed these women in engineering because they were women becoming engineers. This resonates with me, because in May of that same year, I graduated from engineering.  I remember sitting in my cubical in a structural engineering firm in shock when we heard the news of this incident.  I could not understand why and I still don’t.

Since becoming a teacher, every year I IMG_0521would tell my students this story not only for the obvious lesson that violence against women, or against anyone, is wrong but to talk about what I truly believe.  I truly believe that any one can become anything they want to be regardless of their sex, race, religion or culture, if they work hard and put their minds to it.  Who we are cannot govern what careers we may or may not pursue.  We as people should be able to strive for our goals with the knowledge that we are supported and that society does not have these types of barriers .

As I am not in a classroom to share my story with my students, I am writing here to share my story with you.

 

2 thoughts on “December 6, 1989 – 25 Years

  1. Beautiful, touching blog. Thank you for sharing. Your blog post makes me that much more grateful to my parents. They giving up everything to come to this country so my sister and I could choose any career path we wanted without being treated like second-class citizens due to our gender.

  2. Anita! I was in Moncton at the time, and I remember the event, but I didn’t know about the details… And, you are absolutely right in”one can become anything they want to be regardless of their sex, race, religion or culture, if they work hard and put their minds to it.” It really is true! Love, Kati

Leave a Reply

